Each year, the Board of Education establishes committees. Membership is solicited at the beginning of the school year. Members are appointed in September to serve for the school year. 

If you would like to serve on a committee, contact Lillian Pizzolo, District Clerk, 21 Everett Drive, Yaphank, NY 11980 or e-mail [email protected] no later than Monday, September 13, 2021. Please be sure to include your name, address and telephone number.

Community & Culture Board Committee (Chairperson Penelope Blizzard-McGrath, Esq.): Explores ways of further engaging the school community forward promoting an inclusive school culture that enhances all students’ self-identity, self-confidence, and self-esteem. 

Legislative Board Committee (Chairperson Daniel Tomaszewski): Promotes school issues to federal, state, county, and town officials to enact legislation affecting education issues. The committee monitors and may initiate legislation in the interest of the District. 

Policy Board Committee (Chairperson Penelope Blizzard-McGrath, Esq.): Assists the Board of Education in developing policies to guide the District’s overall operations. Policies provide clear and concise guidelines to the administration and staff in making decisions. Membership on this committee is determined by a lottery at an upcoming Board of Education meeting. 

School Safety Awareness Board Committee (Chairperson William Massian):  The committee, which is a combined effort of the community, students, and administration, will review school safety issues and procedures, develop new methods of community communication, and awareness and needs.  The committee’s mission is to create useful recommendations for the District to review and implement, such as policies, programs, and events.

Budget Advisory District Committee: Provides a representative view of the proposed expenditures that formulate the school’s spending plan for the next school year.

Technology District Committee:  Assesses the needs of students and staff relating to the implementation of new technology. The committee will also support the incorporation of the New York Smart Schools Bond funding.  The Superintendent of Schools will make appointments to the Technology Committee.  

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.