Skip To Main Content

Longwood Welcomes Districts From Across Suffolk County to Advocate for Public Education

Longwood Welcomes Districts From Across Suffolk County to Advocate for Public Education


The Longwood Central School District was proud to welcome close to 350 public education leaders, representing three-quarters of the school districts from Suffolk County, to advocate for our students, schools, and communities at the Longwood Legislative Breakfast, co-sponsored by ESBOCES and Suffolk Region PTA. Now in its 20th year, the event continues to address the ongoing challenges facing public education and the potential impact on students.

Held on Saturday, February 3, Longwood Superintendent Dr. Lohman opened the program by thanking attendees for their unwavering support for public education.

“We are proud to share that this marks the 20th year that we have come together in this room to advocate for public education with one unified voice,” stated Dr. Lohman. “This year, we’re proud to welcome attendees from almost every District in Suffolk County, many of whom have been here with us since day one. Thank you all for joining us and for your continued commitment to our students, teachers, and communities across Long Island.”

The event began with two outstanding presentations with Charles S. Dedrick, Ed.D., Executive Director of the New York State Council of School Superintendents, and David Wicks, Chief Operating Officer of Eastern Suffolk BOCES. An engaging dialogue followed the presentations with district representatives, students, and New York State Senate and Assembly members on topics including foundation aid, zero-emission school buses, school safety, and more.

Congratulations to our outstanding Legislative Committee student-leaders, junior Jack Cannet, for addressing officials about the importance of implementing common-sense measures for school safety, and junior Carlie Preudhomme for providing her inspiring remarks at the event’s opening and closing.

Thank you to all who attended, with special thanks to Congressman Nick LaLota, Senators Anthony Palumbo, Dean Murray, Monica Martinez, and Alexis Weik; Assembly members Fred Thiele, Jodi Giglio, Joseph DeStefano, Doug Smith, Jarett Gandolfo, Michael Fitzpatrick, and Michael Durso for joining us!